3 comments on “Hairshirt

  1. In the faith I walk out each day, I know there’s a sweet spot between awareness of the worst that I’ve done and said (most of it, anyway), and being confident of my position with God, who has washed all of that clean in the blood of His Son. Humility is not about revisiting sins He has put as far as the east is from the west–it’s about striving to see others with His same love and mercy. I wasted too many years beating myself up–wearing hairshirt–until one beautiful day, God said, “Enough–stop it; you’re making Jesus’ finished work at the Cross null and void. I LOVE you, you’re forgiven–now walk in JOY and Freedom”. (mini-sermon) I’m far from perfection, but I accomplish more for Him now that I’ve got that straight, than I did when my eyes were on my dark failings–rather than on the Light of Jesus’ blood-bought Victory.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’m misty-eyed, reading your comment–you couldn’t make me any happier if you sent me a million bucks. My life–the hell, and the high days–is worth nothing here on earth if I’ve not inspired someone somewhere, a little bit. Thank you for your affirming words (and God bless you BIG, too!).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment